YA 2016 June And July Releases To Watch Out For

Keeping on top of the new releases is always hard when it comes to Young Adult books. Why? Because there are so many! And they all seem so epic! How does one even know what to choose?! Luckily for you, I am here to point you in the direction of upcoming epicness and keep your to-be-read piles taller than the Eiffel Tower. I know you’re so relieved. You are most welcome, my bookworm friends.

 

J U NE   &   J U L Y    2 0 1  6    R E L E A S E S


9781785652745This Savage Song

[purchase]

This story is set in a dark Gothom-style city were monsters rule the world. You can pay the mafia to keep you safe — or you can get your soul eaten. Good times. It’s dual narrated by Kate, who’s the stabby daughter of one of the crime lords, and by August, who is a very sweet kind…monster. I love how it contrasts humans vs monsters and asks what truly makes you a monster. It also has a Romeo and Juliet style story line but with actually no romance! It’s stunningly written. Definite must-read!


9780702253942 (1)One Would Think The Deep

[purchase]

This is by the wonderful Australian author, Claire Zorn, who writes astoundingly gorgeous novels like The Protected and The Sky So Heavy. This time, the novel is set in 1997 and features Sam who’s suffering from the grief of losing his mother. It also promises surfing (I mean look at that fantastically trippy cover) and strange relatives and a boy learning to live again.


29753111When Michael Met Mina

[purchase]

This is another glorious Aussie author creation! It’s about refugees and the “boat people”, which is a very apt topic for today and I can’t wait to read this book and see how the author handles things! It features two kids from opposite sides: Mina, who came from Afghanistan on a boat, and Michael, whose parents adamantly protest the refugees. It promises love and injustice!


9780544805095With Malice

[purchase]

This is a YA thriller pitched as for fans of We Were Liars and The Girl On the Train. So, woah, you know you’re in for a wild time! It features Jill who was supposed to have a nice holiday in Italy…but she wakes up in a hospital with her body damaged and a 6 week memory gap. What happened? What was the accident? Was it even an accident?


Forgetting Foster | REVISED FINAL COVER x 2 (18 April 2016)Forgetting Foster

[purchase]

I was absolutely captivated by Aussie author, Diane Touchell’s first book A Small Madness, so I’m super excited to try Forgetting Foster! It sounds like it’ll be another heartbreaking tale, this time about a little boy who’s father is forgetting things…more and more things until eventually Foster is the one being neglected and overlooked. I have so many questions! I can’t wait to read this!


9780552573740And I Darken

[purchase]

This is an epic fantasy that features a dark and brutal princess. She is a pawn in a power game for empires and thrones and she’s planning revenge on the people who stole her birthright. The blurb promises battles and wits and a toxic and deadly love triangle. Which all sounds very exciting and dramatic. I can’t wait!

Published by

Cait Drews

Cait Drews is writer, book blogger, and reader extraordinaire. She's been blogging for 5 years, reads 200 books a year, and has written over fourteen YA novels. She is usually found hugging her bookshelves and she often eats full books before breakfast.