Winners of CBCA Awards announced

The winners of this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) awards have been announced.

The winning and honour books are:

Book of the Year: Older Readers

The Ghost’s Child (Sonya Hartnett, Viking) 

Honour Books:

Marty’s Shadow (John Heffernan, Omnibus)

Black Water (David Metzenthen, Penguin)

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

Dragon Moon (Carole Wilkinson, Black Dog Books)

Honour Books:

Sixth Grade Style Queen (Not!) (Sherryl Clark, illustrated by Elissa Christian, Puffin)

Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp (Odo Hirsch, A&U)

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley (Aaron Blabey, Viking)

Honour Books:

Cat (Mike Dumbleton, illustrated by Craig Smith, Working Title Press)

Lucy Goosey (Margaret Wild, illustrated by Ann James, Little Hare Books)

Picture Book of the Year

Requiem for a Beast (Matt Ottley, Lothian)

Honour Books:

The Peasant Prince (Li Cunxin, illus by Anne Spudvilas, Viking)

Dust (Colin Thompson, ABC Books)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Parsley Rabbit’s Book about Books (Frances Watts, illus by David Legge, ABC Books)

Honour Books:

Girl Stuff: Your Full-on Guide to the Teen Years (Kaz Cooke, Viking)

Kokoda Track: 101 Days (Peter Macinnis, Black Dog Books).

Published by

Clayton Wehner

Clayton is the founder and managing director of Boomerang Books. In a past life, Clayton worked for 12 years as an intelligence officer in the Australian Army and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He is a graduate of the Australian Defence Force Academy and the Royal Military College Duntroon and holds a BA (Hons) in Political Science and a Master of Management Studies (Human Resource Management) from the UNSW. He is also a trained Indonesian linguist and served with the United Nations in East Timor as an interpreter/translator.