WA Premier’s Book Award Winners announced

The winners of this year’s Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards were announced on 17 September.

The winner of the overall Premier’s Prize ($25,000) was Fiona Skyring for Justice: A History of the Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia (UWA Publishing). Skyring’s book also won the $10,000 WA History Prize.

Buy the books here…

The winners in each of the categories were:

Nonfiction ($15,000)

  • Her Father’s Daughter (Alice Pung, Black Inc.)

Fiction ($15,000)

  • All That I Am (Anna Funder, Penguin)

Children’s ($15,000)

  • Sam, Grace and the Shipwreck (Michelle Gillespie, illus by Sonia Martinez, Fremantle Press)

Poetry ($10,000)

  • The Argument (Tracy Ryan, Fremantle Press)

Young Adult ($10,000)

  • Only Ever Always (Penni Russon, A&U)

State Library of Western Australia WA History Award ($10,000)

  • Justice: A History of the Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia(Fiona Skyring, UWA Publishing)

Scripts ($10,000)

  • Cloudstreet (Tim Winton & Ellen Fontana, Penguin)

Digital narrative ($5000)

  • Machine Man (Max Barry, Scribe)

People’s Choice ($5000)

  • All That I Am (Anna Funder, Penguin).

See more information about the WA Premier’s Book Awards here…

Published by

Clayton Wehner

Clayton is the founder and managing director of Boomerang Books. In a past life, Clayton worked for 12 years as an intelligence officer in the Australian Army and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He is a graduate of the Australian Defence Force Academy and the Royal Military College Duntroon and holds a BA (Hons) in Political Science and a Master of Management Studies (Human Resource Management) from the UNSW. He is also a trained Indonesian linguist and served with the United Nations in East Timor as an interpreter/translator.