Void-filling Queensland Literary Award winners announced – literature is alive in Queensland

The winners of the inaugural Queensland Literary Awards – a ‘replacement’ for the axed Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards – were announced on 4 September on the eve of the Brisbane Writers Festival.

The winners in each category are:

Fiction book award

Cold Light (Frank Moorhouse, Vintage)

Nonfiction book award

The People Smuggler (Robin De Crespigny, Viking)

Children’s book award

Kumiko and the Shadow Catchers (Briony Stewart, UQP)

Young adult book award

The Ink Bridge (Neil Grant, A&U)

The Steele Rudd Award for an Australian short story collection

Forecast: Turbulence (Janette Turner Hospital, Fourth Estate)

Judith Wright Calanthe Award – poetry collection

Crimson Crop (Peter Rose, UWA Publishing)

Emerging Queensland author – manuscript award

Island of the Unexpected (Catherine Titasey)

David Unaipon Award for an unpublished Indigenous writer

Story (Siv Parker)

Science writer award

Sex, Genes & Rock ‘n’ Roll (Rob Brooks, NewSouth)

History book award

The Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia (Bill Gammage, A&U)

The Harry Williams Award for a literary or media work advancing public debate

The Australian Moment: How We Were Made for These Times (George Megalogenis, Viking)

Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year

Closer to Stone (Simon Cleary, UQP)

Television script award

Mabo (Sue Smith, Blackfella Films)

Drama script (stage) award

War Crimes (Angela Betzien)

Film script award

Dead Europe (Louise Fox, See-Saw Films).

Each category winner receives a cash prize of $1000, except the Courier Mail’s People’s Choice Award, which is worth $5000. Catherine Titasey and Siv Parker, the winners of the Emerging Queensland author manuscript award and the David Unaipon Award for an unpublished Indigenous writer award, will also receive $2000 each, provided by the Queensland University of Technology, and their manuscripts will be published by University of Queensland Press.

For more information, visit the Queensland Literary Awards website…

Published by

Clayton Wehner

Clayton is the founder and managing director of Boomerang Books. In a past life, Clayton worked for 12 years as an intelligence officer in the Australian Army and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He is a graduate of the Australian Defence Force Academy and the Royal Military College Duntroon and holds a BA (Hons) in Political Science and a Master of Management Studies (Human Resource Management) from the UNSW. He is also a trained Indonesian linguist and served with the United Nations in East Timor as an interpreter/translator.