Nominations for The Guardian’s ‘Not the Booker’ Prize announced

The Guardian in the UK has released its annual longlist of titles for the ‘Not the Booker’ Prize. The prize has the same criteria as the Booker, but is voted by the public. The winner receives a Guardian coffee mug.

Members of the public have until 9 August to vote for their favourite titles, ahead of a shortlist announcement later this week. Here is the full list of titles on the longlist:

From: The Guardian,

Socrates Adams – Everything’s Fine

Kitty Aldridge – A Trick I Learned from Dead Men

Louis Armand – Breakfast at Midnight

Ros Barber – The Marlowe Papers

Nicola Barker – The Yips

Ned Beauman – The Teleportation Accident

Liam Murray Bell – So It Is

Caroline Brothers – Hinterland

Peter Carey – The Chemistry of Tears

Adam Christopher – Empire State

Glen Duncan – Talulla Rising

Steve Ely – Ratmen

Stuart Evers – If This Is Home

Jenni Fagan – The Panopticon

Patrick Flanery – Absolution

Vanessa Gebbie – The Coward’s Tale

Jonny Gibbings – Malice in Blunderland

Andrea Gillies – The White Lie

M John Harrison – Empty Space

Lander Hawes – Captivity

Peter Hobbs – In the Orchard, the Swallows

Kerry Hudson – Tony Hogan Bought Me an Ice Cream Float Before He Stole My Ma

JW Ironmonger – The Notable Brain of Maximilian Ponder

Lars Iyer – Dogma

Suzanne Joinson – A Lady Cyclist’s Guide To Kashgar

Susanna Jones – When Nights Were Cold

Aj Kirby – Paint This Town Red

Margo Lanagan – The Brides of Rollrock Island

John Lanchester – Capital

Harriet Lane – Alys Always

Will Le Fleming – Central Reservation

Deborah Levy – Swimming Home

Nell Leyshon – The Colour of Milk

Karen Lord – Redemption In Indigo

Kenneth Macleod – The Incident

Hilary Mantel – Bring Up the Bodies

Paul Mason – Rare Earth

Simon Mawer – The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

Stephen May – Life! Death! Prizes!

Samantha Mills – The Quiddity of Will Self

Timothy Mo – Pure

Alan Monaghan – A Soldier’s Farewell

Ewan Morrison – Tales from the Mall

Steve Mosby – Dark Room

Benjamin Myers – Pig Iron

Michael Palin – The Truth

Elliot Perlman – The Street Sweeper

Richard Pierce – Dead Men

Tom Pollock – The City’s Son

Alex Preston – The Revelations

David Rain – The Heat of the Sun

Anna Raverat – Signs of Life

Dan Rhodes – This Is Life

Keith Ridgway – Hawthorn and Child

Gwendoline Riley – Opposed Positions

Adam Roberts – Jack Glass

Bethan Roberts – My Policeman

Fiona Robyn – The Most Beautiful Thing

Iain Rowan – One of Us]

Zadie Smith – NW

James Smythe – The Testimony

Simon Swift – The Casablanca Case

Graeme Talboys – Stealing Into Winter

Tarun Tejpal – The Story of My Assassins

Paul Torday – The Legacy of Hartlepool Hall

Adam Thorpe – Flight

Alan Warner – Dead Man’s Pedal

Peter Wild – The Passenger

Will Wiles – The Care of Wooden Floors

Ada Wilson – Red Army Faction Blues

Jacqueline Winspear – Elegy For Eddie

Chris Womersley – Bereft

Published by

Clayton Wehner

Clayton is the founder and managing director of Boomerang Books. In a past life, Clayton worked for 12 years as an intelligence officer in the Australian Army and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He is a graduate of the Australian Defence Force Academy and the Royal Military College Duntroon and holds a BA (Hons) in Political Science and a Master of Management Studies (Human Resource Management) from the UNSW. He is also a trained Indonesian linguist and served with the United Nations in East Timor as an interpreter/translator.