Winners of 2012 Children’s Book Council of Australia Awards announced

by - August 17th, 2012

The winners of the 2012 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards were announced on 17 August 2012.

The winners and honour books in each of the categories are:

Older Readers


  • The Dead I Know (Scot Gardner, A&U)

Honour books:

  • A Straight Line to My Heart (Bill Condon, A&U)
  • When We Were Two (Robert Newton, Penguin)

Younger Readers

  • Crow Country (Kate Constable, A&U)

Honour books:

  • Nanberry: Black Brother White (Jackie French, Angus & Robertson)
  • The Truth About Verity Sparks (Susan Green, Walker Books)

Early Childhood


  • The Runaway Hug (Nick Bland, illus by Freya Blackwood, Scholastic)

Honour books:

  • Come Down Cat! (Sonya Hartnett, illus by Lucia Masciullo, Puffin)
  • That’s Not a Daffodil! (Elizabeth Honey, A&U)

Picture Book of the Year


  • A Bus Called Heaven (Bob Graham, Walker Books)

Honour books:

  • The Dream of the Thylacine (Margaret Wild & Ron Brooks, A&U)
  • Flood (Jackie French & Bruce Whatley, Scholastic)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books


  • One Small Island: The Story of Macquarie Island (Alison Lester & Coral Tulloch, Penguin)

Honour book:

  • The Little Refugee (Anh & Suzanne Do, illus by Bruce Whatley, A&U)

Crichton Award for Illustration:

  • Ben & Duck (Sara Acton, Scholastic).

Connect with the Author:
Clayton Wehner (430 Posts)


Comments are closed.