Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards shortlists announced for 2012

by - August 9th, 2012

The shortlists for this year’s Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction ($25,000)

  • Foal’s Bread (Gillian Mears, A&U)
  • A History of Books (Gerald Murnane, Giramondo)
  • The Cook (Wayne Macauley, Text)
  • Mateship with Birds (Carrie Tiffany, Picador)
  • All That I Am (Anna Funder, Penguin)
  • Cold Light (Frank Moorhouse, Vintage)

Nettie Palmer Prize for Nonfiction ($25,000)

  • The Biggest Estate on Earth (Bill Gammage, A&U)
  • The Hall of Uselessness (Simon Leys, Black Inc.)
  • Her Father’s Daughter (Alice Pung, Black Inc.)
  • Adelaide (Kerryn Goldsworthy, NewSouth)
  • 1835: The Founding of Melbourne and The Conquest of Australia(James Boyce, Black Inc.)
  • True North: The Story of Mary and Elizabeth Durack (Brenda Niall, Text)

Prize for Writing for Young Adults ($25,000)

  • All I Ever Wanted (Vikki Wakefield, Text)
  • The Shadow Girl (John Larkin, Woolshed Press)
  • The Shiny Guys (Doug MacLeod, Penguin

CJ Dennis Prize for Poetry ($25,000)

  • Southern Barbarians (John Mateer, Giramondo)
  • Vishvarupa (Michelle Cahill, Five Islands Press)
  • Armour (John Kinsella, Picador)

Louis Esson Prize for Drama ($25,000)

  • National Interest (Aiden Fennessy)
  • A Golem Story (Lally Katz)
  • Boxman (Daniel Keene).

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced at a ceremony on 16 October.

Connect with the Author:
Clayton Wehner (430 Posts)


Comments are closed.