Ruby Moonlight wins Deadly Award

by - September 26th, 2012

Ali Cobby Eckermann has won the 2012 Deadly Award for Outstanding Achievement in Literature for her verse novel Ruby Moonlight.

This year’s Deadly Awards were announced at a special event at the Sydney Opera House on 25 September. The awards are presented to Indigenous Australians for excellence in the areas of music, sport, entertainment and community.

Cobby Eckermann was one of five authors shortlisted for this year’s literature category. The other shortlisted authors were:

  • Dub Leffler (Once There Was a Boy, Magabala)
  • Chaise Eade (Second Life, Xlibris)
  • Sue McPherson (Grace Beside Me, Magabala)
  • John Maynard (The Aboriginal Soccer Tribe: A History of Aboriginal Involvement with the World Game, Magabala)

More information about the Deadlys can be found here…

Connect with the Author:
Clayton Wehner (430 Posts)


Comments are closed.